Monday, July 20, 2020

#ARCREVIEW: You Had Me At Hola By Alexis Daria

This post uses affiliate links and I will receive a small commission for purchases made through my links at no additional cost to you. Click here for more info.

You had me at hola by Alexis Daria
Publisher: Avon
Release Date: August 4th, 2020
Format: egalley*
My Rating: 
GoodReads ★ Amazon ★ B&N 
RITA® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers. 

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Su├írez. 

Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy

After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he’ll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had. 

Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars. 

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret.

This was actually the first book I've read by Alexis Daria, believe it or not. Her other books are on my TBR but I haven't gotten around to it yet. This one was really enjoyable.

The chemistry between the two in this book was awesome. I also want to say that the use of lubrication during the intimate scenes was a plus for me. I want those types of mechanical stuff to be talked about more in contemporary romances. Let's normalize that! 

One thing I didn't care for was the interludes that were basically the scenes they were filming and they were written in the characters they were playing perspective. I don't know, it just felt like it did nothing for me. 

Did find them both to be frustrating in their stubborness at different parts. But I was glad that it all worked out in the end.


*I received a review copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Snag your copy using my affiliate link below:



Happy Reads Everyone!
Planning to purchase a book or two? Consider purchasing on amazon by using my affiliate link by clicking the banner below or on the right rail of my page. I receive a small commission from any purchases you make via this link, but it's at no cost to you.

Follow