Saturday, April 20, 2019

#REVIEW: Off Limits by Kelly Jamieson (Hockey Aces 1.5)

This post uses affiliate links and I will receive a small commission for purchases made through my links at no additional cost to you. Click here for more info.

Off Limits by Kelly Jamieson (Hockey Aces 1.5)
Publisher: Love Swept
Release Date: November 15th, 2017
Format: Kindle
My Rating: 
GoodReads ★ Amazon ★ B&N 
Perfect for fans of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo, Kelly Jamieson’s charming holiday novella kicks off a brand-new series featuring the hunky hockey stars of the Chicago Aces.
 
The Christmas season always puts a smile on Jenna McFadden’s face. Even though she’s bringing a boyfriend home for the first time, inside she’s dying to see Andrew. Years ago, when the McFaddens took the troubled teen into their home, Jenna had to keep her blazing-hot crush a secret. And now that he’s playing pro hockey for the NHL’s Chicago Aces, nothing’s changed. With his wide shoulders and taut muscles, Andrew’s the most tempting package in the house . . . one that Jenna’s dying to unwrap.
 
Andrew Ross just can’t make a play for Jenna. Her dad and brothers wouldn’t approve, and he could never betray the trust of the wonderful people who treated him like family when he lost his own. That’s what makes the holidays so hard. Whether Jenna’s skating with Andrew on a frozen pond or sitting on his lap while he plays Santa, she’s pushing all their boundaries—and there’s only so much a man can take. Andrew knows that she’s off-limits. But something deep down tells him that Jenna’s heart is the one prize he simply has to win.

Off Limits is a novella set in Kelly Jamieson's Hockey Aces series. It's about Andrew Ross who comes from the farm team, but ends up playing for the Chicago Aces. This is a cute story set during Christmas, but I think I would have liked the plot of this one better if it was set during when Andrew and Jenna were teens, rather than later in life. If you like a second chance romance, or one that is a little forbidden, this one is for you.
One thing I really don't like in romance books is cheating. So I was kind of annoyed when the book starts off with Jenna bringing her very boring boyfriend home for Christmas. While Jenna and Andrew never act on it, nothing happens between them until after her relationship is over, there was definitely some emotional cheating going on. The attraction between these two was so palatable, but I really would have liked it better if she never had a boyfriend in the first place. 

This one is interesting because Jenna's family took in Andrew after he had no one, and he is forever grateful to them and never wants to do anything to lose that "family" he has. So he never wants to cross that line, after Jenna's Dad had a talking to him when he was a teen. I so would have loved a teen book about these two because of that. This is about Jenna and Andrew later in life and how they know they are still attracted to each other, but they aren't sure what to do about it.

It was a little frustrating to watch them try to figure things out, but this is a short book so it was quick to get through. One pet peeve I have with Jamieson's writing is that it seems like the dude in the romance calls the woman "baby" a little too soon for my liking. I think I first noticed it in this book, but I've noticed it in the other books in the series too. It's not a deal breaker, but something I noticed that is starting to bother me. 

This book was short and enjoyable, but I don't think you necessary need to read it if you are reading this series. I only read it because I am kind of obsessed with this series right now. 

Grab your own copy using my affiliate link below:



Happy Reads Everyone!

Planning to purchase a book or two? Consider purchasing on amazon by using my affiliate link by clicking the banner below or on the right rail of my page. I receive a small commission from any purchases you make via this link, but it's at no cost to you.


Follow