Monday, April 15, 2019

#REVIEW: Major Misconduct (Aces Hockey #1) By Kelly Jamieson

This post uses affiliate links and I will receive a small commission for purchases made through my links at no additional cost to you. Click here for more info.

Major Misconduct by Kelly Jamieson (Aces Hockey #1)
Publisher: Love Swept
Release Date: October 13th, 2015
Format: Kindle
My Rating: ★ 1/2
GoodReads ★ Amazon ★ B&N 
In Kelly Jamieson’s seductive new Chicago Aces romance—perfect for readers of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo—a fun-loving free spirit tempts an uptight hockey star into opening himself up to love.

As the captain of the Chicago Aces, Marc Dupuis is all business. The apartment he shares with his teammate and best friend, Duncan, is a refuge from the pressures of fame. But when the sexiest woman he’s ever seen interrupts his early morning coffee wearing only a skimpy cami and matching panties, Marc can’t exactly say he minds. Their chemistry is off the charts. Unfortunately, this girl’s no random puck bunny. She’s Duncan’s little sister—and she’s moving in.

Lovey Armstrong could stare at Marc’s chiseled abs and listen to his French-Canadian accent all day. She just has no idea what’s going on inside his head: When he’s not charming her pants off, Marc makes a Zamboni machine seem warm and cuddly. Lovey knows the team’s bro code says no messing with sisters, but all these mixed messages are hard on a girl’s self-esteem—especially since she’s finally getting her new life together in Chicago. She decides he’s worth another shot . . . because if anyone can melt the ice around Marc’s heart, it’s Lovey.
So I went back and read the rest of Kelly Jamieson's Aces Hockey series, starting with book one. It's interesting reading in the wrong order because I can kind of see all the changes in Kelly's writing and how she has progressed as a writer. This was the first in the series, so there are some flaws to the writing, but I think I gave it a higher review because one, I LOVED the romance in this book, and two I knew that her writing improves down the line.

I knew going in that the two lovers will end up together, because duh it's a romance novel, and I knew that from reading the later books in this series. So it was really fun to see where it all started for Marc and Lovey. 

I don't totally love Lovey at first, but I was glad it was explained that Lovey is not actually her name, but a nickname. I always thought that was kind of weird. I didn't really care for her introduction in this book, she came off as really pushy and immature, so I wasn't sure about this one. I'm not sure I would have liked this one if I hadn't read the other books in the series. I did find her more interesting when learning about her lifestyle blog and her business venture. I love that this series has women that are on their own career paths.

I loved Marc Dupuis, he was so serious all the time, but he really cared about his friendships and his team. It was really sweet, and he felt really awful about getting tied up with Lovey when he promised Duncan he would stay away from her. I also love the sprinkle of french with him when he spoke to Lovey. Gah, it was so cute!

I love, love, love a forbidden romance, so a romance where it's like "don't touch my sister" but you know he totally is going to touch the dude's sister is one of my favorites. I will admit it was kind of torture just waiting for Lovey and Marc to finally give into their desires though. Just the right kind of torture though. 

I really enjoyed this one, and I think Lovey and Marc are one of my favorite couples in this series. 

Snag a copy for yourself using my affiliate link below:



Happy Reads Everyone!

Planning to purchase a book or two? Consider purchasing on amazon by using my affiliate link by clicking the banner below or on the right rail of my page. I receive a small commission from any purchases you make via this link, but it's at no cost to you.


Follow