Sunday, January 6, 2019

#AudiobookReview: They Both Die at The End by Adam Silvera

They Both Die at The End by Adam Silvera
Publisher: Harper Collins
Release Date: September 5th, 2017
Format: Audiobook narrated by Michael Crouch, Robbie Daymond & Bahni Turpin
My Rating: 
GoodReads ★ Amazon ★ B&N ★ TBD
New York Times bestselling author Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day. 

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. 

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called “profound."
Look, I'm giving this one five stars, because it was so good, but it also BROKE me! So it was amazing, but I'm still mad about it. I'm not going to really get into specifics, even though the author himself spoiled it with that title. So yeah, don't be surprised about the ending of this book. Don't say Adam Silvera didn't warn you, because he does up front, but I still hoped he was just messing with us. That's a big NOPE!

The world in this book is a really interesting concept, and I think it works so well because it's set in a near-future that you could really see how this could actually be a thing. Like other social media like Twitter and Facebook which has weaved its way into our everyday lives, so has Death-Cast in the world in this book. It's a pretty ingenious way of world building, and it almost makes it feel like this book is a contemporary young adult romance with a touch of magical realism. I really could believe that this could be a thing down the line. Although, I kind of hope it's not, because I don't know if I personally would want to know when I was going to die. I already have enough anxiety to deal with.

I LOVE the diversity in this book, and I definitely want to read more books by this author because of it. The book is about two POC queer boys, and I'm pretty sure it's an #OwnVoices too. One of the characters self-identifies as bisexual, and I can't remember ever reading a book with a male bisexual character, and I definitely want to change that. The other character, never really comes out and identifies his sexuality, which I thought was an interesting choice.

The narrative of the novel was also done in a unique way because not only do we get Matteo and Rufus's point of view, but we also get some sidebar point of views of other people. I think the audiobook version does this really well by having Bahni Turpin doing all the sidebar narrations. I think this is my first audiobook listen with Michael Crouch, and I think he does a really good job as Matteo. He's a little more soft-spoken as Matteo, and I felt like I could really feel Matteo's personality pulling through the audio. I LOVED Robbie Daymond as Rufus. He has this really gruff, tough guy voice to him, that 100% works for the character. I thought his name looked familiar to me, but I didn't really pinpoint the voice, until I looked him up and he's a pretty prolific voice over actor in video games and animation. You might know him as Tuxedo Max in the Sailor Moon cartoons! I think that really proved to me the insane range this dude has. I definitely want to check out more of the books both Robbie and Michael have narrated in the future.

I couldn't get enough of this book, but I am also still mad at Adam Silvera for playing with my emotions like that. HOW DARE YOU, SIR! If you are looking for a unique contemporary ya romance, I would definitely recommend this one. Just don't be surprised at the end.

Get your own copy of this book by using my affiliate link below:


Happy Reads Everyone!

Planning to purchase a book or two? Consider purchasing on amazon by using my affiliate link by clicking the banner below or on the right rail of my page. It's at no cost to you.


Follow